1999 – Co-operatives Board appointed

1999 – Co-operatives Board appointed

The Co-operatives Board members appointed by the Minister for Social Policy, Dr. Lawrence Gonzi, took office for two years on the 1st January 1999.

The Members of the Board are Dr. Godfrey Baldacchino (Chairman), Ms Caryl Cassar, Dr. Nicholas Bonanna, Dr David Fabri, Mr Tony Muscat, Mr Rolan Micallef Attard and Mr Mario Falzon.

The Board is being entrusted with the main task of proposing changes to the Co-operative Societies ACT No. XXVI 1978 with the aim of encouraging the formation of new co-operative societies. This government reform is to encourage new co-operative societies from the public sector, small businesses, the consumer, sports, culture and others.  The changes to the Act are to take place in consultation with the co-operative movement.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *